Free-Fall

Midway through my fall I realized you weren’t with me at all
I looked at my empty hand and wondered if I’ll ever land
Will it hurt as I crash and burn? This time will I learn?

All the words were just that and I see it now
I believed everything, don’t even remember how
Bypassed every single red flag because I was so sure
Wanted to be loved so bad, I thought you were my cure
Turns out I was temporary, your love imaginary, overstayed my welcome, all these feelings I’m going to bury

You were my end-game, on my heart tattooed your name
Who would’ve known I meant nothing, like this verse without a rhyme I didn’t fit in you
And no matter how hard I tried I could never be enough, I pretend I’m strong but you called my bluff
Now I’m here free-falling into us while you look down, glad I could be your personal clown

Is it entertaining? To watch me straining?
To watch me still try to glue myself together to keep loving you whole?
To watch me still build back all the trust you stole?
To watch me still hope you’ll love me back?
My slow descent into madness, turning me into a maniac?

Am I that hard to love?
Is it that easy to let me go?
“Yes” is the answer and now I know

I wish the story ended differently
I wish you’d let me down gently
Instead, I’m falling for every detail of you
Soon hitting the ground as you’re not mine to belong to

Leave a comment