Goodbye Letter

I realize now that I don’t belong in your life
I’ve tried to shrink myself to fit the tiny space you made for me
I’ve tried to love for the both of us
Now with pieces of my heart falling through my fingers
A former offering turned into evidence of the crime you committed
So this is my goodbye letter, for you I’ll make no more art
No more rhymes in these verses, no more tears in these eyes
No more making excuses for you, no more pretending it doesn’t hurt

I realize now that it’s not really up to me
I became all I thought you wanted me to be
I love you with all of me and more
For you, ready to fight a war
But it’s never really enough, is it?
Every time realization kicks in it destroys me bit by bit
Scared I’ll do too little or maybe overdo
“You deserve the world”, well all I wanted was you

I lied to myself again saying I wouldn’t write about this anymore
But that idea shakes me to the core
Truth is, you’re the only thing worth writing about
The inspiration I can’t imagine myself without
But I can’t keep fighting invisibility
Showed you all my vulnerability, trying to get that tranquility
So goodbye, maybe we’ll meet again and you’ll look in my eyes and realize your love is real
Maybe until then I’ll remember how good it is to feel, to love you
Something I vow to forever do
Yours,

Leave a comment